Talkmicro  
     

Left Nav Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   Talkmicro » Web Links » Stock Photography Links!

Stock Photography Links! Post your links to Stock Agencies in here.

Shutterstock
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:09 PM
Gracey's Avatar
Old and Tired
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Default GalaStock

Anybody ever hear of this place?

http://galastock.com/

I got an email soliciting my photos. I skimmed some of the TOS for buyers, but I can't see any photographer information until you actually sign up - I hate that.

They seem to based in Latvia...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 34
Send a message via MSN to tugmistress
Default

yeah i just received one too .... maybe i am being daft but uploaded 2 pics, will let you know what happens.

photographers get 30% of sales of pix
referals for photogs and buyrs is 10%
__________________
Paula
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-08-2006, 06:14 PM
Gracey's Avatar
Old and Tired
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Default

Paula, if you uploaded some pics then you must have read the photographer's agreement page, right? How about letting us know what it says?

I get a little weirded out by sites that actually solicit me - the last one that did that has gone away into the wild blue yonder, with packload of my images (place called Bestphotosfx) - I should have clued in when I uploaded stuff and could find no photographer's pages with account info or anything else; no way to remove or edit the images either. I wrote them a dozen times asking for my stuff to be removed. Then, the last few times I tried to call up the site it was just gone.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-08-2006, 07:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 34
Send a message via MSN to tugmistress
Default

you got a PM Gracey .....
don't know about posting it in it's entirity here but it certainly reads as an offshoot or baby of CanStock.
__________________
Paula
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:13 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I got an invitation also and had a look around the site. I didn't see any names I recognized. I'm a bit leery to but if they're legit I'm always ready so I'll be watching this thread for more info.

Sorry I haven't been around. I've been busy keywording and uploading. :lol:
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-08-2006, 10:17 PM
thesupe87's Avatar
AIM: graficallyminded
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 2,064
Send a message via AIM to thesupe87 Send a message via Yahoo to thesupe87
Default

I just got an invitation for GalaStock today too - looks like a "n00b" in the race against the big boy micro sites. I will wait and see what I hear about it before I waste my time. :?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-08-2006, 10:19 PM
Gracey's Avatar
Old and Tired
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Default

Thanks Paula - if they are a subsidiary of Canstock I'll probably decline. I had my fill of them a long time back.

I didn't recognize any stock names either on that site, which made me wonder a little.

I don't mind supporting new sites trying to get a kick-off, but the address in Latvia gives me a little pause - not that they can't be legit, just that it seems odd if it's part of Canstock.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-28-2006, 04:21 PM
ajn ajn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 322
Default

I really think GalaStock is *better* than canstock. Clean interface, quick upload/submit, vector support.

Review time is around 2 days which, not being brilliant, is not as bad as Canstock.

Sales are better than canstock too... the 1st day on GalaStock was better than this month on CanStock. (yes, my canstock sales suck).

I will update this in a few weeks. For now, I think it's worth a try.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2006, 02:48 PM
thesupe87's Avatar
AIM: graficallyminded
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 2,064
Send a message via AIM to thesupe87 Send a message via Yahoo to thesupe87
Default

Wow, this sounds promising - keep us posted, ajn. I'll sign up as your referral if I do end up doing so

My canstock is dead as well. I'm almost at 60 bucks, and it's taking forever. I'm still uploading new stuff just to try to push it forward more, I just want one payout from them at least for my time and work. Right now I'm averaging .25-.50 a day there :?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2006, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 122
Send a message via Yahoo to suwanneeredhead
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gracey
I get a little weirded out by sites that actually solicit me - the last one that did that has gone away into the wild blue yonder, with packload of my images (place called Bestphotosfx) - I should have clued in when I uploaded stuff and could find no photographer's pages with account info or anything else; no way to remove or edit the images either. I wrote them a dozen times asking for my stuff to be removed. Then, the last few times I tried to call up the site it was just gone.
TotallyPhotos too...
__________________
Shutterstock | Dreamstime | IStock | Fotolia
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0
Style Provided By: Microstock Forum