Talkmicro  
     

Left Nav Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   Talkmicro » Talk-Micro » Micro Photographer's Daily Contact Sheet

Micro Photographer's Daily Contact Sheet Micropayment stock photography topics for the inquiring mind

Shutterstock
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2007, 02:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 51
Default photographersdirect.com

Does anyone know much about this site? At a glance, it appears to be somewhat like Featurepics.

I was looking through the list of photographers, and only saw 2 or 3 names I THOUGHT were familiar.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2007, 02:56 PM
thesupe87's Avatar
AIM: graficallyminded
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 2,064
Send a message via AIM to thesupe87 Send a message via Yahoo to thesupe87
Default

I don't think you can sell your stuff on other micro sites, if you sell with them. That's what I read in the Canon photography forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2007, 02:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 51
Default

Well that brings me to another question - does that mean I can't sell PHOTOS that I sell on micro sites? Or does that mean that because I am on micro sites, I can't sell ANY photos there at all?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2007, 04:20 PM
Gracey's Avatar
Old and Tired
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Default

No, it means that you can't be a microstocker PERIOD.

I have a friend who is with this group (he's not a microstocker) and he invited me to join, however on reading the fineprint I discovered the microstock issue and mentioned it to him, so he asked. Didn't give them my name or anything, just that he had a friend....anyway, he got an emphatic NO from them unless the person in question (me) removes ALL images from all micro sites.

Since my own moral beliefs prevent me from doing it, I didn't bother signing up.

It wouldn't surprise me to know that some microstockers are with them anyways. I don't know what the penalty would be if you were found out (maybe nothing at all).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2007, 05:14 PM
thesupe87's Avatar
AIM: graficallyminded
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 2,064
Send a message via AIM to thesupe87 Send a message via Yahoo to thesupe87
Default

They're not that big anyway - I've never heard of any of my designer friends buying from them. Leave em be...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2007, 07:00 PM
Gracey's Avatar
Old and Tired
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Default

Well, they aren't necessarily supplying designers I think. Keith makes a couple of hundred per photo with this site, and he provides them with more than a couple a month.

They post a listing of photos required by magazines and other clients and you submit your photo to the list. It's not like a stock site at all, though you can upload photos as stock. He doesn't, he provides a service instead.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2007, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 303
Default

Gracey I have sold through this site alot, they are the first site I started with before really getting into microstock. Ok you cannot list stuff that you have on microsites with them, they say in terms and conditions that you cant sell them on bigstockphoto,shutterstock and a few others. I place most of my editorial stuff there. Ive also sold images for between 100 and 200 US dollars, images that are used mainly for textbooks.

How it works is you can sign up as a subscribed or unsubscribed member, unsubscribed members pay 20 percent commision on images they sell. subscribed members pay an annual fee and pay no commission. you also get customer requests daily sent to you by email and you can attach suitable images to customer requests. the customer sets their budget and Ive never seen a budget below ?60. From what I can tell these are not designers, mostly publishers etc. Its a good place to occasionally get a sale, Ive seen some pretty strange requests tho lol

As for uploading you upload an image at 72dpi jpeg level 8 to go into your portfolio. They dont reject they simply rate images for you. like 6 is fair, 7 is good, 8 is outstanding and 9 is classed as a WOW.

Hope this is helpful.
__________________
www.ayeshawilsonphotoart.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2007, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 303
Default Example of a photograhers direct request

Ok here is an example of a request that came thru few days ago:supe this is right up your street lol!!


Request ID:
5548
Request Date: 09 January 2007
Deadline: 11 January 2007
Request Subject: Photo of an alien
Request: 10.09 Photo of an alien. Like the kind found in tabloid magazines, AND/OR an interesting photo illustration of what we think an alien looks like, (e.g., large head, large eyes, small, thin body).

Budget: Inside, 1/4 page: US$175 (1/4 page, inside book, magazine or brochure)

Budget Notes: Print run 24,000
Rights: World, English
Less than 1/8 of a page inside the book.
Use: editorial
Categories: Occult & Paranormal,
Locations: Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Asia, Europe,
__________________
www.ayeshawilsonphotoart.co.uk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0
Style Provided By: Microstock Forum