Talkmicro  
     

Left Nav Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   Talkmicro » Talk-Micro » Micro Photographer's Daily Contact Sheet

Micro Photographer's Daily Contact Sheet Micropayment stock photography topics for the inquiring mind

Shutterstock
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2006, 12:04 PM
Gracey's Avatar
Old and Tired
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Default For ALL Stock Contributors

Found this thread early today on the BSP forums.

Everyone of you who contributes or has contributed to any type of free photo site needs to look through this persons gallery. Many of the images looked really familiar to me, though I can't put my finger on where I've seen them, or whose they are.

http://www.bigstockphoto.com/bb/viewtopic.php?t=1799

If this is true (and not some sort of mixup) it's horrendous.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2006, 03:23 PM
Karimala's Avatar
Boomer Sooner!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,429
Default

Thanks for the heads up, Gracey!

Looks like SXC should refine its TOS, if it indeed says images can be used for "low profit," as Steve said. For someone whose native tongue isn't English, I can see where that could be interpretted as granting permission to resell on microstock sites.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2006, 06:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 85
Default

That's why all photos uploaded to any "free" site should be watermarked.

I guess lot of people will be surprised to see that someone else has been making money off their images.

Regards from Macedonia.Ljupco
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2006, 06:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Gracey, I'm not as familiar with the groups and people as you are. I did run a quick search on both iStock (no results) and Fotolia (a result for Snowlion with 4 pages of gorgeous stuff...).

Here's a link over to the Fotolia stuff. Since Bigstock has removed Snowlion's account, I couldn't compare to verify...would you be willing to do so? [url http://www.fotolia.com/search.php?se...wlion]Snowlion at Fotolia[/url].

I thought the butterfly shot looked familiar, but...I dunno. Like I said, I'm new at all this, and before I say something to Fotolia, I'd like a second pair of eyes looking at this.

Thanks...

~FF
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2006, 07:29 PM
Gracey's Avatar
Old and Tired
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Default

The images in the link you posted are the same as the person named snowlion on BSP - the only thing I noticed is that all the offending images that were brought up on BSP don't appear in the gallery link you posted. There's no doubt it's the same person though.

There was a butterfly image in the port on BSP that was identical to the one on webshots - the one in the link you posted is not the same one, but was familiar to me also, I just couldn't find it on webshots. I didn't look on sxc though - I've never used that site.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2006, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gracey
The images in the link you posted are the same as the person named snowlion on BSP - the only thing I noticed is that all the offending images that were brought up on BSP don't appear in the gallery link you posted. There's no doubt it's the same person though.

There was a butterfly image in the port on BSP that was identical to the one on webshots - the one in the link you posted is not the same one, but was familiar to me also, I just couldn't find it on webshots. I didn't look on sxc though - I've never used that site.
O.K., I'll notify Fotolia of it. I'll point them to this thread, so that they can get an idea of the problem and that it isn't just me.

I'll look on some other sites - ala Dreamstime, Totallyphotos, sxp, shutterstock...not sure if I'll find snowlion, but it doesn't serve the microstock community to not know about this.

Regards-
~FF
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2006, 02:38 PM
thesupe87's Avatar
AIM: graficallyminded
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 2,064
Send a message via AIM to thesupe87 Send a message via Yahoo to thesupe87
Default

what a jerk. how long did he think he was going to get away with that..!?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2006, 10:06 PM
Karimala's Avatar
Boomer Sooner!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,429
Default

Found him over at USPhotoStock, too.

http://www.usphotostock.com/portfoli...c9e58fe4ad6dc3

He's also had photos on iStock and Dreamstime, but it looks like someone caught on over there and they have been removed. Can't find his gallery listed under his other username Tibet6688.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2006, 10:13 PM
Karimala's Avatar
Boomer Sooner!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,429
Default

Here he is again, this time at Stockphotomedia under Tibet6688. The guy sure does make the rounds!

http://www.fotomedia.se/FotoMediaApp...D-326807_.aspx
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-25-2006, 06:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Hi, all. I just heard back from Fotolia, and they said they're aware of the issues. Just thought I'd let you all know.

Regards-
~FF
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0
Style Provided By: Microstock Forum