Talkmicro  
     

Left Nav Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Right Nav

Left Container Right Container
 

Go Back   Talkmicro » Talk-Micro » Micro Photographer's Daily Contact Sheet

Micro Photographer's Daily Contact Sheet Micropayment stock photography topics for the inquiring mind

Shutterstock
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2007, 10:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Default strange way to promote images

This is the link to the original fotolia post: New affiliate site, the link to the web site in question is/ was winetvworld.com - Royalty Free Stock Photos, he has also another site at Fotostock.fr - Banque d'Images - Photos libres de droits - Images libres de droits What do you think? SY
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 12:13 AM
Karimala's Avatar
Boomer Sooner!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,429
Default

I've taken my third close look at it (see the original Fotolia thread). First time around I clicked on the Fotolia link and found it went to the site owner's gallery, Michel Piccaya. Second time I noticed that the images belonged to other members, so I dropped the issue. This time though I noticed that every single one of the images has his Partner ID attached, which means that he will receive a referral bonus for every image sold through his site.

Pretty clever way of digging up referral income, if you ask me, but I have a serious problem with it. Why? Because he's making money by using individual photos...yours, mine, all of ours...not just Fotolia itself...and he's getting buyer referrals from OUR photos, not just his own. It reminds me of those old spam letters with a guy's link to SS that claimed he made $30K a year.

I can't believe how dumb the folks are on Fotolia's board. This isn't something to get excited about by any means! Guess I'll post what I just wrote here and see if I can wake them up.

I'm also really surprised that Fotolia hasn't done something about it. I can't begin to imagine they think this is okay. Oh...that's right...we're talking about Fotolia here.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Default

Same here, I actually contacted Chad and his reply was: I know that sites like this exist, it is allowed under the Fotolia TOS and I can't see anything negative in it for the photographer concerned. I see two negative things: 1) Nowhere on the the site is said that the images are not his nor could I find any copyright notice on the said itself, you know the usual disclaimer the content of this site and all bla bla bla is copyrighted and can't be used without bla bla bla... 2) I want to decide who represents my images and in which context, with this site I would have no problem (if he had asked), but what if he puts content up I don't agree with and my images are seen in this context? Ok, and a last thing: I would have preferred to be asked before, to have the possibility to opt in our out, rather then stumbling over it. I think I write the guy a friendly email and ask him to remove my images from his site, let's see how he reacts and if I have even more time I'll dig out the TOS and see what it says.... SY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 09:15 AM
Karimala's Avatar
Boomer Sooner!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,429
Default

From Fotolia Partner Info (which is where you get your personal affiliation links):

Quote:
Promote photos on the website

It is possible to promote photographs from the website by using the URL displayed on the detail page of the selected photo. This URL contains your partner id and when a customer joins Fotolia after clicking your link they will become your associates.
I agree with you about context, too, Sybille. The site's name sent up red flags in the first place, and that's why I started digging. What does WineTVWorld have to do with stock photography or European travel? It just looks and sounds like another cheesy website where someone is trying to make money off of links to another site, and that's not the kind of place where I want my work promoted.

Lastly, here is my latest post in the thread:

Quote:
I'm concerned, because I would prefer that the only person using my images to attract affiliates/referrals is me or Fotolia and its partners. I don't think it's right that another contributor can earn extra income off of my hard work without my consent.

I did read on the "Partner Info" page that this practice is fine with Fotolia, but when I promote the work of another contributor, which I do on a few independent forums outside of Fotolia, I wouldn't dream of using my affiliation link. I would prefer the referral income go to the artist who created the image, not me. They did all the work...I just posted a link...and I don't think it's fair to the artist if I receive ongoing income for five years for something I didn't create.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hospitalera View Post
This is the link to the original fotolia post: New affiliate site, the link to the web site in question is/ was winetvworld.com - Royalty Free Stock Photos, he has also another site at Fotostock.fr - Banque d'Images - Photos libres de droits - Images libres de droits What do you think? SY
I had a look at the site... and noticed almost my whole fotolia port over there... !
It's unethical very unfair for that site to sell our pictures via affiliates. The way i see it is that he didn't create any of the content... but is earning money with pictures that aren't his.
Secondly, the least fotolia or that guy could have done is ask for our permission or the choice to opt in or out.

Patrick.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 11:43 AM
Karimala's Avatar
Boomer Sooner!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,429
Default

Thanks for backing me up on Fotolia's board, Patrick.

I'm actually losing sleep over this issue tonight, because I'm so irate, and if this issue isn't resolved, I've decided to once and for all remove my portfolio. I have zero faith that Fotolia will do anything to provide the artists who disagree with this practice a viable much less ethical alternative. Time and time again something comes up where I end up questioning their business practices and ethics, and they always come up short. Quite frankly, I'm sick it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 210
Default

Anybody up for writing an email together to the site owner? SY
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hospitalera View Post
Anybody up for writing an email together to the site owner? SY
Sounds like a good idea... we need to make people aware that this kind of practices are very unethical...
Karin, i've also condered pulling my pictures from fotolia...

Patrick.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 330
Default

I checked and found my images there. I can't say I'm unhappy with the affiliation. My images come up on Fotolia with my copyright. I get the usual commission. More exposure is in keeping with the Fotolia contract. What's not to like?
Suppose Fotolia placed ads in a publication with a political stance I didn't like? What if one of my least favorite political party used one of my images for a campaign flyer?
Let's face it. We're in the business of selling images. I don't see a problem with the added promotion complained about in this thread. I say give me a hundred more sites promoting my work.
__________________
istockPhoto
Shutterstock
Dreamstime
Stockxpert
SnapVillage
Fotolia
BigStockP
FeaturePics
YayMicro
TheNextMicroWannaBe
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 02:55 PM
Karimala's Avatar
Boomer Sooner!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,429
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hospitalera View Post
Anybody up for writing an email together to the site owner? SY
The problem isn't with the site's owner...it's with Fotolia. As our long-time TM friend Christine replied on behalf of Fotolia, there are other sites like it, so writing to the owner will only take care of the one site (maybe). Fotolia is the entity endorsing this practice in the first place, and they are providing the means to accomplish it. I'm happy to sign a letter to the site owner, but I also still remain 99% sure that I will be leaving Fotolia as soon as I reach my next payout.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0
Style Provided By: Microstock Forum